6 Months in Finland

Hello!

It’s been a while! I’m doing well. I have to give much credit to God for this. I can say with confidence that I would not be doing as well if he were not helping me. Hardly a week goes by when he does not sustain me through problems.

School is going well. We just started the fourth out of five terms. I am taking Russian, color theory, and English. In addition, I am doing some school I brought from home, since there aren’t any other classes more pressing in the high school here. My dancing class from last term is ended now, and next week we take our new skills and participate in the school’s dance (comparable to the prom in the US). We are anticipating that the dance will be filmed, and the video will be put up on YouTube. I will post a link to it here on the blog for you to watch.

I was invited to present for some more classes in the local schools a few weeks ago. I happily accepted. I always like a change of scenery, even if for a day. The presentations went quite well; generally, I would introduce myself and explain a bit about why I’m here, then I would spend the rest of the time answering the students’ questions. They came up with some good questions for me. Common questions included my opinion of Finland and various aspects thereof; my favorites in different categories; what I liked to do in my free time; and what I thought of President Trump. In the end, I think everyone, myself included, had a good time and learned something. Those experiences made me realize how much I enjoy talking to people and teaching them things.

The days have been getting longer recently, and as a result I have been able to see the evening sky when I walk home from school, and I must say that it is gorgeous. It’s like the sky was painted with new colors. It’s a marvelous shade of Prussian/Midnight blue, fading into a pinkish orange at the horizon. I took some pictures to try to capture the effect; the colors of the sky are true to life.

img_9903
The Sun Goes Down
img_9906
Dusk Approaches
img_9910
Dusk Arrived
img_9917b
2:30 PM

The last picture was taken on the way home from school. It’s snowed recently, and the trees have a pretty, white cover. The temperature has been around 10 degrees Fahrenheit or lower for the past bunch of days. At this point, if it’s above freezing temperature, I think it’s pretty warm 🙂 I like the winter though, so this is the place to be!

My Finnish has been improving. I understand a lot of what people are saying. I’m also getting a handle on the word choices Finns make when expressing things. It’s rather interesting.

Speaking of interesting, I find that a vast majority of things are interesting, if not fascinating. Everything from the unit of measure for clothing in Europe to the color of the night sky to the way Finnish people express things. It’s all very interesting. In Finnish, the word I’ve been using for it is jännä, which means “interesting”, as well as “neat” and “cool”. In a way, I can be a bit childlike: simple and peaceful in my comprehension of the complexity and beauty of God and the world.

Regarding my return to the US, my parents will be coming to visit Finland on May 18th, and we will all return on May 27. I look forward to my return, but I remain focused on the tasks at hand, here and now. God has me here for a reason, so why should I focus on leaving when I still have much to do?

Have a good day.

 

Leave a Reply

