Status Report

I feel that I have now, to a great extent, mastered the basic details of my surroundings and also completed my acculturation into the Finnish lifestyle. There are still some issues, to be sure, but I feel those will resolve themselves in time with diligence. Overall, I no longer have any issues with the change in living conditions. Also, I don’t get homesick, so that helps too.

As a result of a variety of situations, I’ve been wondering why I am here and what I should be doing, and I have reached a few conclusions based on what’s happened so far and what I know of God.

First, God put me here to grow in different ways. I have an enormous amount of control over most aspects of my life here, and as a result I have to decide how I feel about each aspect and how I will respond to it. In a way it’s a lot like I have moved out of the house after college for work and no one is around to make sure I do anything. The emphasis on me is more overbearing than many small things would be, but it’s okay, I’m going to make it. In fact, this sort of personal growth is exactly the sort of thing I wanted from this trip. God is good!

Second, God put me here to be a witness to the people around me. There is definitely a need. My approach to this is to just live my life in the way God finds pleasing and let it rub off on the people around me. I have sufficient time to warrant the use of this plan. I see no need to be overbearing, and indeed, I think it would damage relations here.

Both of these things I will take as I can, in stride. As my dad has emphasized, I don’t need to get it all worked out now. It will come in good time, on it’s own.

My mother and I feel that God is preparing me for something. My family and I have not done much to get this trip going and it’s going extremely well so far. The conditions are perfect and inducive of learning and personal growth, such that I know God is responsible. Personally I think it’s very cool to see how God has everything set up for his glory. I do not know what God’s plan is, but I know I will do whatever I can with the gifts and abilities he has given me. If you find anything about my trip remarkable or interesting, give all the credit to God. It’s all him.

If you would like to pray for me, I would appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

